Search for Dorchester County SC marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Dorchester County Clerk 5200 East Jim Bilton Boulevard St. George SC 29477 843-563-0160
Dorchester County Clerk 212 Deming Way Summerville SC 29483 843-832-0360
Dorchester County Health Department 201 Gavin St St. George SC 29477 843-832-0041
South Carolina State Health Department 201 Gavin St St. George SC 29477 843-832-0041
South Carolina State Health Department 106 Springview Lane Summerville SC 29485 843-873-5063
Summerville Health Department 500 North Main Street Summerville SC 29483 843-832-0041
Summerville Health Department 2885 West 5th North Street Summerville SC 29483 843-832-0041
Summerville Town Hall 200 South Main Street Summerville SC 29483 843-871-6000
1. Apply where: County Probate Judge's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $40-$100; varies by county and residency status
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in South Carolina, both members of the couple must visit a County Probate Judge's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have submitted the application, there is a 24-hour waiting period before you can pick up the marriage license. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government agency to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Dorchester County, South Carolina?
You will need to visit the County Probate Judge's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. The license is valid anywhere in South Carolina.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in South Carolina?
A marriage license can cost anywhere between $40 and $100, depending on the county. Some counties charge higher fees for non-residents.
How old do you have to be to get married in Dorchester County?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in South Carolina. Minors must have the consent of a parent or legal guardian in order to marry.