Search for Greenwood County, SC marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Greenwood County Clerk 528 Monument Street Greenwood SC 29646 864-942-8546
Greenwood County Health Department 1736 Main Street South Greenwood SC 29646 864-227-5915
Ninety Six City Hall 120 Main Street West Ninety Six SC 29666 864-543-2200
Ware Shoals City Hall 8 Mill Street Ware Shoals SC 29692 864-456-7478
1. Apply where: County Probate Judge's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $40-$100; varies by county and residency status
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in South Carolina, both members of the couple must visit a County Probate Judge's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have submitted the application, there is a 24-hour waiting period before you can pick up the marriage license. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government agency to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Greenwood County, South Carolina?
You will need to visit the County Probate Judge's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. The license is valid anywhere in South Carolina.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in South Carolina?
A marriage license can cost anywhere between $40 and $100, depending on the county. Some counties charge higher fees for non-residents.
How old do you have to be to get married in Greenwood County?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in South Carolina. Minors must have the consent of a parent or legal guardian in order to marry.