Search for Berkeley County, SC marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Berkeley County Clerk 300 California Avenue Moncks Corner SC 29461 843-719-4400
Bonneau Town Hall 422 Municipal Lane Bonneau SC 29431 843-825-3385
Goose Creek City Hall 519 North Goose Creek Boulevard Goose Creek SC 29445 843-797-6220
Hanahan City Hall 1255 Yeamans Hall Road Hanahan SC 29410 843-529-3405
Hanahan Clerk 1255 Yeamans Hall Road Hanahan SC 29410 843-576-5259
Jamestown Town Hall 7604 South Carolina 41 Jamestown SC 29453 843-257-2233
Moncks Corner Town Hall 118 Carolina Avenue Moncks Corner SC 29461 843-719-7900
St Stephen Town Clerk 124 Hood Street St. Stephen SC 29479 843-567-3597
1. Apply where: County Probate Judge's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $40-$100; varies by county and residency status
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in South Carolina, both members of the couple must visit a County Probate Judge's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have submitted the application, there is a 24-hour waiting period before you can pick up the marriage license. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government agency to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Berkeley County, South Carolina?
You will need to visit the County Probate Judge's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. The license is valid anywhere in South Carolina.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in South Carolina?
A marriage license can cost anywhere between $40 and $100, depending on the county. Some counties charge higher fees for non-residents.
How old do you have to be to get married in Berkeley County?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in South Carolina. Minors must have the consent of a parent or legal guardian in order to marry.