Search for Greenville County, SC marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Fountain Inn City Hall 200 North Main Street Fountain Inn SC 29644 864-862-1090
Greenville City Hall 206 South Main Street Greenville SC 29601 864-467-5700
Greenville County Health Department 200 University Ridge Greenville SC 29601 864-282-4100
Greer City Hall 301 East Poinsett Street Greer SC 29651 864-848-2150
Mauldin City Hall 5 East Butler Road Mauldin SC 29662 864-288-4910
Simpsonville City Hall 118 Northeast Main Street Simpsonville SC 29681 864-967-9526
Simpsonville Clerk 405 East Curtis Street Simpsonville SC 29681 864-967-9538
St Mary's County Health Department 301 University Ridge Greenville SC 29601 864-282-4146
Travelers Rest City Hall 6711 State Park Road Travelers Rest SC 29690 864-834-8740
1. Apply where: County Probate Judge's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $40-$100; varies by county and residency status
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in South Carolina, both members of the couple must visit a County Probate Judge's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have submitted the application, there is a 24-hour waiting period before you can pick up the marriage license. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government agency to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Greenville County, South Carolina?
You will need to visit the County Probate Judge's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. The license is valid anywhere in South Carolina.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in South Carolina?
A marriage license can cost anywhere between $40 and $100, depending on the county. Some counties charge higher fees for non-residents.
How old do you have to be to get married in Greenville County?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in South Carolina. Minors must have the consent of a parent or legal guardian in order to marry.