Search for Charleston County, SC marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Charleston City Hall 80 Broad Street Charleston SC 29401 843-577-6970
Charleston County Clerk 100 Broad Street Charleston SC 29401 843-958-5000
Folly Beach City Hall 21 Center Street Folly Beach SC 29439 843-588-2447
Hollywood Town Hall 6316 South Carolina 162 Hollywood SC 29449 843-889-3222
Isle Of Palms Clerk 1207 Palm Boulevard Isle of Palms SC 29451 843-886-8946
Isle of Palms City Hall 1207 Palm Boulevard Isle of Palms SC 29451 843-886-6428
James Island Town Hall 1238 Camp Road Charleston SC 29412 843-795-4141
John Island Health Department 3574 Maybank Highway Johns Island SC 29455 843-559-2855
Kiawah Island Town Hall 21 Beachwalker Drive Kiawah Island SC 29455 843-768-9166
Mcclellanville Town Hall 405 Pinckney Street McClellanville SC 29458 843-887-3712
Meggett Town Hall 4776 South Carolina 165 Meggett SC 29449 843-889-3622
Mount Pleasant Town Hall 100 Ann Edwards Lane Mount Pleasant SC 29464 843-884-5184
North Charleston City Hall 2500 City Hall Lane North Charleston SC 29406 843-554-5700
Ravenel Town Hall 5962 South Carolina 165 Ravenel SC 29470 843-889-8732
South Carolina State Health Department 2070 Northbrook Boulevard North Charleston SC 29406 843-953-4300
South Carolina State Health Department 2100 Charlie Hall Boulevard Charleston SC 29414 843-414-2350
Sullivan's Island Town Hall 2050 Middle Street Sullivan's Island SC 29482 843-883-3198
1. Apply where: County Probate Judge's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $40-$100; varies by county and residency status
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in South Carolina, both members of the couple must visit a County Probate Judge's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have submitted the application, there is a 24-hour waiting period before you can pick up the marriage license. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government agency to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Charleston County, South Carolina?
You will need to visit the County Probate Judge's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. The license is valid anywhere in South Carolina.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in South Carolina?
A marriage license can cost anywhere between $40 and $100, depending on the county. Some counties charge higher fees for non-residents.
How old do you have to be to get married in Charleston County?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in South Carolina. Minors must have the consent of a parent or legal guardian in order to marry.