Search for Oconee County, SC marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Oconee County Clerk 205 West Main Street Walhalla SC 29691 864-638-4280
Oconee County Health Department 609 North Townville Street Seneca SC 29678 864-882-2245
Oconee County Health Department 200 Booker Drive Walhalla SC 29691 864-638-4170
Salem Town Hall 5 Park Avenue Salem SC 29676 864-944-2819
Seneca City Hall 221 East North 1st Street Seneca SC 29678 864-885-2700
Walhalla City Hall 206 North Church Street Walhalla SC 29691 864-638-4343
West Union Town Hall 1442 W Main St West Union SC 29696 864-638-9978
Westminster City Clerk 100 East Windsor Street Westminster SC 29693 864-647-3202
Westminster City Hall 100 East Windsor Street Westminster SC 29693 864-647-9919
1. Apply where: County Probate Judge's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $40-$100; varies by county and residency status
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in South Carolina, both members of the couple must visit a County Probate Judge's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have submitted the application, there is a 24-hour waiting period before you can pick up the marriage license. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government agency to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Oconee County, South Carolina?
You will need to visit the County Probate Judge's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. The license is valid anywhere in South Carolina.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in South Carolina?
A marriage license can cost anywhere between $40 and $100, depending on the county. Some counties charge higher fees for non-residents.
How old do you have to be to get married in Oconee County?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in South Carolina. Minors must have the consent of a parent or legal guardian in order to marry.