Anderson County Marriage Licenses

Search for Anderson County SC marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Anderson City Hall 401 South Main Street Anderson SC 29624 864-231-2200


Anderson County Clerk 100 South Main Street Anderson SC 29624 864-260-4053

Anderson County Health Department 220 McGee Road Anderson SC 29625 864-260-5541

Belton City Hall 306 Anderson Street Belton SC 29627 864-338-8832

Greenville County Clerk 305 East Greenville Street Anderson SC 29621 864-467-8551

Honea Path Town Hall 204 South Main Street Honea Path SC 29654 864-369-2466

Iva Clerk 204 Jackson Road Iva SC 29655 864-348-6193

Pendleton Town Hall 310 Greenville Street Pendleton SC 29670 864-646-9409

South Carolina State Health Department 2404 North Main Street Anderson SC 29621 864-260-5569

Starr Town Clerk 7641 Highway 81 S Starr SC 29684 864-352-2138

Starr Town Hall # H, 7641 Highway 81 S Starr SC 29684 864-352-2365

Williamston City Hall 12 West Main Street Williamston SC 29697 864-847-7473

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: County Probate Judge's Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent

3. Cost/fees: $40-$100; varies by county and residency status

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: No

8. License Valid: Does not expire

9. Waiting Period: 24 hours

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: Yes

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: Yes

Questions/Answers about Anderson County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in South Carolina, both members of the couple must visit a County Probate Judge's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have submitted the application, there is a 24-hour waiting period before you can pick up the marriage license. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government agency to be recorded.

How do I get a marriage license in Anderson County, South Carolina?

You will need to visit the County Probate Judge's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. The license is valid anywhere in South Carolina.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in South Carolina?

A marriage license can cost anywhere between $40 and $100, depending on the county. Some counties charge higher fees for non-residents.

How old do you have to be to get married in Anderson County?

You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in South Carolina. Minors must have the consent of a parent or legal guardian in order to marry.