Chesterfield County Marriage Licenses

List of Chesterfield County Marriage Licenses

Search for Chesterfield County, SC marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.

Cheraw Town Hall 200 Market Street Cheraw SC 29520 843-537-7283

Chesterfield City Hall 112 Main Street Chesterfield SC 29709 843-623-2131

Chesterfield County Clerk 200 West Main Street Chesterfield SC 29709 843-623-7839

Chesterfield County Health Department 203 North Page Street Chesterfield SC 29709 843-623-2117

Chesterfield Town Hall 100 Green Street Chesterfield SC 29709 843-623-2131

Jefferson Town Clerk 223 Main Street Jefferson SC 29718 843-658-7800

Jefferson Town Hall 223 N Main St Jefferson SC 29718 843-658-7800

McBee Clerk 38 West Juniper Avenue McBee SC 29101 843-335-8474

Mt Croghan Town Hall 55 Burch St Mount Croghan SC 29727 843-634-3810

Pageland Clerk 310 West McGregor Street Pageland SC 29728 843-672-9137

Patrick Town Hall # 129, 129 Turnage St Patrick SC 29584 843-498-6994

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: County Probate Judge's Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent

3. Cost/fees: $40-$100; varies by county and residency status

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: No

8. License Valid: Does not expire

9. Waiting Period: 24 hours

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: Yes

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: Yes

Questions/Answers about Chesterfield County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in South Carolina, both members of the couple must visit a County Probate Judge's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have submitted the application, there is a 24-hour waiting period before you can pick up the marriage license. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government agency to be recorded.

How do I get a marriage license in Chesterfield County, South Carolina?

You will need to visit the County Probate Judge's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. The license is valid anywhere in South Carolina.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in South Carolina?

A marriage license can cost anywhere between $40 and $100, depending on the county. Some counties charge higher fees for non-residents.

How old do you have to be to get married in Chesterfield County?

You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in South Carolina. Minors must have the consent of a parent or legal guardian in order to marry.