Search for Richland County, SC marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
South Carolina Marriage License Office Of Public Health Statistics And Information Systems, South Carolina Department Of Health And Environmental Control, 2600 Bull Street Columbia SC 29201 803-898-3630
Arcadia Lakes Town Hall 6626a Arcadia Woods Road Columbia SC 29206 803-782-2272
Blythewood Town Hall 171 Langford Road Blythewood SC 29016 803-754-0501
Columbia City Hall 1737 Main Street Columbia SC 29201 803-545-3000
Columbia Health Department 2200 Harden Street Columbia SC 29203 803-737-5301
Eastover Town Hall 624 Main Street Eastover SC 29044 803-353-2281
Richland County Clerk 1701 Main Street Columbia SC 29201 803-576-1999
Richland County Health Department 200 East Hampton Way Columbia SC 29229 803-576-2739
South Carolina Health Department # 314, 2414 Bull St Columbia SC 29201 803-898-8581
1. Apply where: County Probate Judge's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $40-$100; varies by county and residency status
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in South Carolina, both members of the couple must visit a County Probate Judge's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have submitted the application, there is a 24-hour waiting period before you can pick up the marriage license. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government agency to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Richland County, South Carolina?
You will need to visit the County Probate Judge's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. The license is valid anywhere in South Carolina.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in South Carolina?
A marriage license can cost anywhere between $40 and $100, depending on the county. Some counties charge higher fees for non-residents.
How old do you have to be to get married in Richland County?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in South Carolina. Minors must have the consent of a parent or legal guardian in order to marry.