Search for Spartanburg County, SC marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Campobello Town Hall 208 North Main Street Campobello SC 29322 864-472-9093
Chesnee City Hall 201 West Cherokee Street Chesnee SC 29323 864-461-2225
Cowpens Town Hall 5332 North Main Street Cowpens SC 29330 864-463-3201
Duncan City Hall 153 West Main Street Duncan SC 29334 864-439-2664
Duncan Town Hall 153 West Main Street Duncan SC 29334 864-439-2664
Inman City Hall 20 South Main Street Inman SC 29349 864-472-6200
Landrum City Hall 100 North Shamrock Avenue Landrum SC 29356 864-457-7281
Lyman Town Hall 81 Groce Road Lyman SC 29365 864-439-3453
Pacolet Mills City Hall 215 Montgomery Avenue Pacolet SC 29372 864-474-3391
Pacolet Town Hall 180 Montgomery Avenue Pacolet SC 29372 864-474-9504
Spartanburg City Hall 145 West Broad Street Spartanburg SC 29306 864-596-2000
Spartanburg County Clerk 180 Magnolia Street Spartanburg SC 29306 864-596-2591
Spartanburg County Health Department 151 East Wood Street Spartanburg SC 29303 864-596-3337
Wellford City Hall 127 Syphrit Road Wellford SC 29385 864-439-4875
Woodruff Clerk 231 E Hayne St Woodruff SC 29388 864-476-8154
1. Apply where: County Probate Judge's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $40-$100; varies by county and residency status
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in South Carolina, both members of the couple must visit a County Probate Judge's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have submitted the application, there is a 24-hour waiting period before you can pick up the marriage license. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government agency to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Spartanburg County, South Carolina?
You will need to visit the County Probate Judge's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. The license is valid anywhere in South Carolina.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in South Carolina?
A marriage license can cost anywhere between $40 and $100, depending on the county. Some counties charge higher fees for non-residents.
How old do you have to be to get married in Spartanburg County?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in South Carolina. Minors must have the consent of a parent or legal guardian in order to marry.