Search for Barnwell County, SC marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Allendale County Clerk 292 Old Allendale Highway Barnwell SC 29812 803-584-7046
Barnwell City Hall 124 Burr Street Barnwell SC 29812 803-259-3266
Barnwell County Clerk 141 Main Street Barnwell SC 29812 803-541-1020
Barnwell County Health Department 11015 Ellenton Street Barnwell SC 29812 803-541-1061
Blackville City Clerk 5983 Lartigue Street Blackville SC 29817 803-284-2444
Blackville Town Hall 213 Lartigue St N Blackville SC 29817 803-284-2444
Elko Town Hall 10067 U.s. 78 Elko SC 29826 803-266-7996
Hilda Town Hall 35 State Road S-6-128 Barnwell SC 29812 803-793-3818
South Carolina State Health Department 916 Reynolds Road Barnwell SC 29812 803-259-5946
Williston City Clerk 13112 Main Street Williston SC 29853 803-266-7015
1. Apply where: County Probate Judge's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $40-$100; varies by county and residency status
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in South Carolina, both members of the couple must visit a County Probate Judge's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have submitted the application, there is a 24-hour waiting period before you can pick up the marriage license. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government agency to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Barnwell County, South Carolina?
You will need to visit the County Probate Judge's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. The license is valid anywhere in South Carolina.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in South Carolina?
A marriage license can cost anywhere between $40 and $100, depending on the county. Some counties charge higher fees for non-residents.
How old do you have to be to get married in Barnwell County?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in South Carolina. Minors must have the consent of a parent or legal guardian in order to marry.