Search for Chester County SC marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Chester City Hall 100 West End Street Chester SC 29706 803-581-2123
Chester County Clerk 140 Main Street Chester SC 29706 803-385-2605
Chester County Health Department 129 Wylie Street Chester SC 29706 803-385-6152
Great Falls City Hall 810 Dearborn Street Great Falls SC 29055 803-482-2055
Great Falls Clerk 810 Dearborn Street Great Falls SC 29055 803-482-2055
Richburg Town Hall 201 North Main Street Richburg SC 29729 803-789-5484
1. Apply where: County Probate Judge's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $40-$100; varies by county and residency status
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in South Carolina, both members of the couple must visit a County Probate Judge's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have submitted the application, there is a 24-hour waiting period before you can pick up the marriage license. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government agency to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Chester County, South Carolina?
You will need to visit the County Probate Judge's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. The license is valid anywhere in South Carolina.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in South Carolina?
A marriage license can cost anywhere between $40 and $100, depending on the county. Some counties charge higher fees for non-residents.
How old do you have to be to get married in Chester County?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in South Carolina. Minors must have the consent of a parent or legal guardian in order to marry.