Aiken County Marriage Licenses

List of Aiken County Marriage Licenses

Search for Aiken County, SC marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.

Aiken City Hall 135 Laurens Street Southwest Aiken SC 29801 803-642-7785

Aiken County Clerk 109 Park Avenue Southeast Aiken SC 29801 803-642-1715

Aiken County Health Department 222 Beaufort Street Northeast Aiken SC 29801 803-642-1604

Monetta Town Hall 290 Academy Street Monetta SC 29105 803-685-5258

New Ellenton City Hall 200 Main St S New Ellenton SC 29809 803-652-2214

North Augusta City Clerk 100 Georgia Avenue North Augusta SC 29841 803-441-4202

Salley Town Clerk 161 Railroad Avenue North Salley SC 29137 803-258-3485

South Carolina State Health Department 1680 Richland Avenue West Aiken SC 29801 803-642-1637

Wagener Clerk 111 Railroad Avenue East Wagener SC 29164 803-564-3507

About Marriage Licenses

Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: County Probate Judge's Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent

3. Cost/fees: $40-$100; varies by county and residency status

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: No

8. License Valid: Does not expire

9. Waiting Period: 24 hours

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: Yes

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: Yes

Questions/Answers about Aiken County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in South Carolina, both members of the couple must visit a County Probate Judge's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have submitted the application, there is a 24-hour waiting period before you can pick up the marriage license. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government agency to be recorded.

How do I get a marriage license in Aiken County, South Carolina?

You will need to visit the County Probate Judge's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. The license is valid anywhere in South Carolina.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in South Carolina?

A marriage license can cost anywhere between $40 and $100, depending on the county. Some counties charge higher fees for non-residents.

How old do you have to be to get married in Aiken County?

You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in South Carolina. Minors must have the consent of a parent or legal guardian in order to marry.