Search for Lexington County, SC marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Batesburg Leesville Town Hall 244 West Columbia Avenue Batesburg-Leesville SC 29006 803-532-4601
Cayce City Hall 1800 12th St Cayce SC 29033 803-796-9020
Chapin Town Hall 157 North Columbia Court Chapin SC 29036 803-345-2444
Chapin Town Hall 103 Columbia Avenue Chapin SC 29036 803-345-2444
Gaston Town Hall 131 North Carlisle Street Gaston SC 29053 803-796-7725
Gilbert Town Hall 345 Hampton Street Gilbert SC 29054 803-892-5207
Irmo Town Hall 7300 Woodrow Street Irmo SC 29063 803-781-7050
Lexington City Clerk 111 Maiden Lane Lexington SC 29072 803-951-4635
Lexington County Clerk 205 East Main Street Lexington SC 29072 864-852-2195
Lexington County Health Department 112 West Hospital Drive West Columbia SC 29169 803-791-3580
Lexington Town Hall 111 Maiden Lane Lexington SC 29072 803-359-4164
Pelion Town Hall 1010 Main Street Pelion SC 29123 803-894-3535
South Congaree Town Hall 119 W Berry Rd West Columbia SC 29172 803-755-2760
Springdale Town Hall 2915 Platt Springs Road West Columbia SC 29170 803-794-0408
Swansea Town Hall 300 West 3rd Street Swansea SC 29160 803-568-2835
West Columbia City Clerk 200 North 12th Street West Columbia SC 29169 803-708-3654
West Columbia City Hall 200 North 12th Street West Columbia SC 29169 803-791-1880
1. Apply where: County Probate Judge's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $40-$100; varies by county and residency status
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in South Carolina, both members of the couple must visit a County Probate Judge's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have submitted the application, there is a 24-hour waiting period before you can pick up the marriage license. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government agency to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Lexington County, South Carolina?
You will need to visit the County Probate Judge's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. The license is valid anywhere in South Carolina.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in South Carolina?
A marriage license can cost anywhere between $40 and $100, depending on the county. Some counties charge higher fees for non-residents.
How old do you have to be to get married in Lexington County?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in South Carolina. Minors must have the consent of a parent or legal guardian in order to marry.