Search for Darlington County, SC marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Darlington County Clerk 1 Public Square Darlington SC 29532 843-398-4330
Darlington County Clerk 133 West Carolina Avenue Hartsville SC 29550 843-383-3008
Darlington County Health Department 305 Russell Street Darlington SC 29532 843-398-4400
Hartsville City Hall 133 West Carolina Avenue Hartsville SC 29550 843-383-3006
Lamar Town Clerk 117 West Main Street Lamar SC 29069 843-326-5551
Society Hill Town Hall 280 South Main Street Society Hill SC 29593 843-378-4681
1. Apply where: County Probate Judge's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $40-$100; varies by county and residency status
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in South Carolina, both members of the couple must visit a County Probate Judge's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have submitted the application, there is a 24-hour waiting period before you can pick up the marriage license. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government agency to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Darlington County, South Carolina?
You will need to visit the County Probate Judge's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. The license is valid anywhere in South Carolina.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in South Carolina?
A marriage license can cost anywhere between $40 and $100, depending on the county. Some counties charge higher fees for non-residents.
How old do you have to be to get married in Darlington County?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in South Carolina. Minors must have the consent of a parent or legal guardian in order to marry.