Search for Oregon marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 17 with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $60
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Oregon, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. Many County Clerks allow couples to begin the paperwork online prior to visiting the Clerk's Office. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit to the proper government authority to record the marriage.
How do I get a marriage license in Oregon?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. In some counties, you can apply online in advance. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Oregon?
It costs $60 to receive a marriage license in Oregon.
How old do you have to be to get married in Oregon?
You must reach the minimum age of 17 to get married in Oregon. Minors must have parental or guardian consent in order to marry.
Can you get married under 18 in Oregon?
Yes. Individuals who are 17 can get married with the consent of a parent or legal guardian. Consent forms are available from the County Clerk's Office. The minimum age for marriage in Oregon is 17.
Do you need a blood test to get married?
No. There is no legal requirement for a premarital blood test or physical exam in order to get married in Oregon.
Who can legally marry you in Oregon?
The state of Oregon recognizes certain individuals as approved wedding officiants. This includes religious authorities and some government officials, such as judges and county clerks. Ministers, priests, and other clergy do not need to receive any special license to perform weddings in Oregon.
Do you need a witness to get married?
Yes. In Oregon, two witnesses over the age of 18 must be present at the marriage ceremony. These witnesses must sign the marriage license, along with the officiant and the couple.
How long does it take to get a marriage license in Oregon?
There is a 3 day waiting period after submitting the marriage license application before the license is valid. You can waive the waiting period with a $10 fee. You must get married before your marriage license expires, and the license is valid for 60 days.
What can you do when your marriage license expires?
If your Oregon marriage license expires, you must apply for a new marriage license and repeat the application procedure. You will also be required to pay the fee again.
What if you or your spouse were previously married? Widowed or divorced?
In Oregon, there is no waiting period after the end of a marriage to apply for a new marriage license. However, previous marriages must be disclosed on the marriage license application, including the date at which any prior marriages ended.
Can you get married by proxy?
No. Marriage by proxy is not permitted in Oregon.
Is same-sex marriage legal in Oregon?
Yes. Same-sex marriage is legal in Oregon.
Can you marry your cousin?
No. You cannot marry your cousin in Oregon.
Is Oregon a common law marriage state?
No. Common law marriages are not recognized by the state of Oregon.
How do you change your name after getting married?
You will need to present your marriage certificate to several government entities, including the Oregon state or county government, the Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to receive a new license, the Social Security Administration (SSA) to update your Social Security Card, the U.S. Department of State to receive a new passport, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), and the U.S. Postal Service (USPS). Some government agencies may require a valid marriage certificate. You may also need to provide a marriage certificate to change your name on your insurance, bank accounts, utilities, and with other companies.