Search for Michigan marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $20 for residents, $30 for non-residents
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 33 days
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Michigan, you must fill out a marriage license application either online or at the County Clerk's Office. If you choose to apply in person, it must be in the county where one of the parties lives or where non-residents intend to be married. Only one member of the couple is required to be present, but that person must prove that both members meet the requirements for marriage, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government office for recording.
How do I get a marriage license in Michigan?
You can apply in person or online for a marriage license in Michigan. If you apply in person, you must visit the County Clerk's Office for the county where one member of the couple is a resident or the county where non-residents intend to be married. You will need to meet certain requirements, provide valid identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Michigan?
The fee for a marriage license differs depending on if either member of the couple is a resident of the state of Michigan. The fee for residents is $20, and $30 for non-residents.
How old do you have to be to get married in Michigan?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Michigan. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have the consent of one parent or guardian.
Can you get married under 18 in Michigan?
Yes. Individuals who are at least 16 years old can get married in Michigan if the application for a marriage license is completed in person and one parent or guardian grants consent. The parent must be present and provide identification and proof of relationship.
Do you need a blood test to get married?
No. There is no legal requirement for a premarital blood test or physical exam in order to get married in Michigan.
Who can legally marry you in Michigan?
The state of Michigan recognizes certain individuals as valid wedding officiants, including religious authorities and government officials, such as judges, magistrates, mayors, and county clerks.
Do you need a witness to get married?
Yes. Two witnesses are required to be married in Michigan. However, the witnesses do not have to be 18 as long as they are deemed capable of undertaking the task.
How long does it take to get a marriage license in Michigan?
Once you have completed the application, the marriage license will be valid in 3 days. You must perform a marriage ceremony while the marriage license is still valid. The license is valid for 33 days.
What can you do when your marriage license expires?
If your Michigan marriage license expires, you must apply for a new marriage license and repeat the application procedure. You will also be required to pay the fee again.
What if you or your spouse were previously married? Widowed or divorced?
In Michigan, there is no waiting period after the end of a marriage to apply for a new marriage license. However, previous marriages must be disclosed, and Michigan requires certified proof that all prior marriages have ended, which can include an official divorce decree or a death certificate.
Can you get married by proxy?
No. Marriage by proxy is not permitted in Michigan.
Is same-sex marriage legal in Michigan?
Yes. Same-sex marriage is legal in Michigan.
Can you marry your cousin?
No. Cousins are not permitted to marry in Michigan.
Is Michigan a common law marriage state?
No, common law marriages are not recognized by the state of Michigan. However, common law marriages that were valid as of January 1, 1957 are still recognized.
How do you change your name after getting married?
You will need to present your marriage certificate to several government entities, including the Michigan state or county government, the Michigan Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to receive a new license, the Social Security Administration (SSA) to update your Social Security Card, the U.S. Department of State to receive a new passport, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), and the U.S. Postal Service (USPS). Some government agencies may require a valid marriage certificate. You may also need to provide a marriage certificate to change your name on your insurance, bank accounts, utilities, and with other companies.