Monroe County Marriage Licenses

Search for Monroe County MI marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Monroe County Marriage License Monroe County Clerk, 106 East First Monroe MI 48161 734-240-7020


Erie Township Clerk 2065 Erie Road Erie MI 48133 734-848-4420

Frenchtown Charter Township Clerk 2744 Vivian Road Monroe MI 48162 734-242-5800

Luna Pier City Hall 4345 Buckeye St Luna Pier MI 48157 734-848-6495

Monroe City Hall 120 East 1st Street Monroe MI 48161 734-243-0700

Monroe County Clerk 106 East 1st Street Monroe MI 48161 734-240-7020

Monroe County Health Department 2353 South Custer Road Monroe MI 48161 734-240-7800

Petersburg City Hall 24 East Center Street Petersburg MI 49270 734-279-1210

Whiteford Township Clerk 4654 Erie Road Temperance MI 48182 734-856-5383

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent

3. Cost/fees: $20 for residents, $30 for non-residents

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: Yes

8. License Valid: 33 days

9. Waiting Period: 3 days

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: No

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Monroe County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Michigan, you must fill out a marriage license application either online or at the County Clerk's Office. If you choose to apply in person, it must be in the county where one of the parties lives or where non-residents intend to be married. Only one member of the couple is required to be present, but that person must prove that both members meet the requirements for marriage, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government office for recording.

How do I get a marriage license in Monroe County, Michigan?

You can apply in person or online for a marriage license in Michigan. If you apply in person, you must visit the County Clerk's Office for the county where one member of the couple is a resident or the county where non-residents intend to be married. You will need to meet certain requirements, provide valid identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Michigan?

The fee for a marriage license differs depending on if either member of the couple is a resident of the state of Michigan. The fee for residents is $20, and $30 for non-residents.

How old do you have to be to get married in Monroe County?

You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Michigan. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have the consent of one parent or guardian.