Search for Kalamazoo County MI marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Kalamazoo County Marriage License Kalamazoo County Clerk, 201 West Kalamazoo Avenue Kalamazoo MI 49007 269-383-8840
Galesburg City Hall 200 East Michigan Avenue Galesburg MI 49053 269-665-7000
Kalamazoo City Hall 241 West South Street Kalamazoo MI 49007 269-337-8047
Kalamazoo County Clerk 201 West Kalamazoo Avenue Kalamazoo MI 49007 269-383-8840
Portage City Clerk 7900 South Westnedge Avenue Portage MI 49002 269-329-4511
Portage City Hall 7900 South Westnedge Avenue Portage MI 49002 269-329-4433
Richland Village Clerk 8100 North 32nd Street Richland MI 49083 269-629-4577
Texas Township Clerk 7110 West Q Avenue Kalamazoo MI 49009 269-978-0710
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $20 for residents, $30 for non-residents
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 33 days
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Michigan, you must fill out a marriage license application either online or at the County Clerk's Office. If you choose to apply in person, it must be in the county where one of the parties lives or where non-residents intend to be married. Only one member of the couple is required to be present, but that person must prove that both members meet the requirements for marriage, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government office for recording.
How do I get a marriage license in Kalamazoo County, Michigan?
You can apply in person or online for a marriage license in Michigan. If you apply in person, you must visit the County Clerk's Office for the county where one member of the couple is a resident or the county where non-residents intend to be married. You will need to meet certain requirements, provide valid identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Michigan?
The fee for a marriage license differs depending on if either member of the couple is a resident of the state of Michigan. The fee for residents is $20, and $30 for non-residents.
How old do you have to be to get married in Kalamazoo County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Michigan. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have the consent of one parent or guardian.