Ottawa County Marriage Licenses

Search for Ottawa County MI marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Ottawa County Marriage License Ottawa County Clerk, 414 Washington Street Grand Haven MI 49417 616-846-8310


Allendale Township Clerk 6676 Lake Michigan Drive Allendale MI 49401 616-895-6295

Grand Haven City Hall 519 Washington Avenue Grand Haven MI 49417 616-842-3210

Holland City Hall 270 South River Avenue Holland MI 49423 616-355-1300

Hudsonville City Hall 3275 Central Boulevard Hudsonville MI 49426 616-669-0200

Ottawa County Clerk 12220 Fillmore Street West Olive MI 49460 616-994-4531

Ottawa County Clerk 3100 Port Sheldon Street Hudsonville MI 49426 616-662-3100

Ottawa County Clerk 12251 James Street Holland MI 49424 616-393-5600

Ottawa County Health Department 16920 Ferris Street Grand Haven MI 49417 616-846-8360

Ottawa County Health Department 12251 James Street Holland MI 49424 616-396-5266

Ottawa County Health Department Ste 1, 3100 Port Sheldon St Hudsonville MI 49426 616-669-0040

Spring Lake City Hall 17290 Roosevelt Road Spring Lake MI 49456 616-842-5803

Spring Lake Township Clerk 106 South Buchanan Street Spring Lake MI 49456 616-844-2101

Zeeland City Hall 21 South Elm Street Zeeland MI 49464 616-772-0870

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent

3. Cost/fees: $20 for residents, $30 for non-residents

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: Yes

8. License Valid: 33 days

9. Waiting Period: 3 days

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: No

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Ottawa County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Michigan, you must fill out a marriage license application either online or at the County Clerk's Office. If you choose to apply in person, it must be in the county where one of the parties lives or where non-residents intend to be married. Only one member of the couple is required to be present, but that person must prove that both members meet the requirements for marriage, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government office for recording.

How do I get a marriage license in Ottawa County, Michigan?

You can apply in person or online for a marriage license in Michigan. If you apply in person, you must visit the County Clerk's Office for the county where one member of the couple is a resident or the county where non-residents intend to be married. You will need to meet certain requirements, provide valid identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Michigan?

The fee for a marriage license differs depending on if either member of the couple is a resident of the state of Michigan. The fee for residents is $20, and $30 for non-residents.

How old do you have to be to get married in Ottawa County?

You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Michigan. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have the consent of one parent or guardian.