Search for Allegan County, MI marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Allegan County Marriage License Allegan County Clerk, 113 Chestnut Street Allegan MI 49010 269-673-0450
Allegan City Hall 112 Locust Street Allegan MI 49010 269-673-5511
Allegan County Clerk 113 Chestnut Street Allegan MI 49010 269-673-0450
Allegan County Health Department 2283 33rd Street Allegan MI 49010 269-673-0519
Douglas City Hall 86 CENTER St Douglas MI 49406 269-857-1438
Douglas Village Clerk 86 West Center Street Douglas MI 49406 269-857-1438
Fennville City Hall 222 S Maple St Fennville MI 49408 269-561-8321
Otsego City Clerk 117 East Orleans Street Otsego MI 49078 269-692-3391
Plainwell City Hall 141 North Main Street Plainwell MI 49080 269-685-6821
Saugatuck City Hall 102 Butler Street Saugatuck MI 49453 269-857-2603
Saugatuck Township Clerk 3461 Blue Star Highway Saugatuck MI 49453 269-857-7721
Wayland City Hall 103 South Main Street Wayland MI 49348 269-792-2265
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $20 for residents, $30 for non-residents
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 33 days
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Michigan, you must fill out a marriage license application either online or at the County Clerk's Office. If you choose to apply in person, it must be in the county where one of the parties lives or where non-residents intend to be married. Only one member of the couple is required to be present, but that person must prove that both members meet the requirements for marriage, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government office for recording.
How do I get a marriage license in Allegan County, Michigan?
You can apply in person or online for a marriage license in Michigan. If you apply in person, you must visit the County Clerk's Office for the county where one member of the couple is a resident or the county where non-residents intend to be married. You will need to meet certain requirements, provide valid identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Michigan?
The fee for a marriage license differs depending on if either member of the couple is a resident of the state of Michigan. The fee for residents is $20, and $30 for non-residents.
How old do you have to be to get married in Allegan County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Michigan. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have the consent of one parent or guardian.