Van Buren County Marriage Licenses

Search for Van Buren County MI marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Van Buren County Marriage License Van Buren County Clerk, 212 Paw Paw Street Paw Paw MI 49079 269-657-8218


Bangor City Hall 257 West Monroe Street Bangor MI 49013 269-427-5831

Bloomingdale Village Clerk 109 East Kalamazoo Street Bloomingdale MI 49026 269-521-3222

Decatur Village Clerk 114 North Phelps Street Decatur MI 49045 269-423-6114

Gobles City Clerk 105 East Main Street Gobles MI 49055 269-628-2246

Hartford City Hall 19 West Main Street Hartford MI 49057 269-621-2477

Lawrence Township Clerk 122 West Saint Joseph Street Lawrence MI 49064 269-674-4255

Lawton Village Clerk 125 South Main Street Lawton MI 49065 269-624-6407

Paw Paw City Hall 111 East Michigan Avenue Paw Paw MI 49079 269-657-3148

South Haven City Hall 539 Phoenix Street South Haven MI 49090 269-637-0745

Van Buren County Clerk 212 East Paw Paw Street Paw Paw MI 49079 269-657-8218

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent

3. Cost/fees: $20 for residents, $30 for non-residents

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: Yes

8. License Valid: 33 days

9. Waiting Period: 3 days

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: No

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Van Buren County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Michigan, you must fill out a marriage license application either online or at the County Clerk's Office. If you choose to apply in person, it must be in the county where one of the parties lives or where non-residents intend to be married. Only one member of the couple is required to be present, but that person must prove that both members meet the requirements for marriage, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government office for recording.

How do I get a marriage license in Van Buren County, Michigan?

You can apply in person or online for a marriage license in Michigan. If you apply in person, you must visit the County Clerk's Office for the county where one member of the couple is a resident or the county where non-residents intend to be married. You will need to meet certain requirements, provide valid identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Michigan?

The fee for a marriage license differs depending on if either member of the couple is a resident of the state of Michigan. The fee for residents is $20, and $30 for non-residents.

How old do you have to be to get married in Van Buren County?

You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Michigan. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have the consent of one parent or guardian.