Charlevoix County Marriage Licenses

Search for Charlevoix County MI marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Charlevoix County Marriage License Charlevoix County Clerk, 203 Antrin Charlevoix MI 49720 231-547-7200


Boyne City Hall 319 North Lake Street Boyne MI 49712 231-582-6597

Boyne Falls City Hall 2290 Railroad St Boyne Falls MI 49713 231-549-2443

Charlevoix County Clerk 203 Antrim Street Charlevoix MI 49720 231-547-7200

Charlevoix Health Department 220 West Garfield Avenue Charlevoix MI 49720 231-547-6523

East Jordan City Hall 201 Main St East Jordan MI 49727 231-536-3381

Michigan Health Department 220 West Garfield Avenue Charlevoix MI 49720 231-547-6523

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent

3. Cost/fees: $20 for residents, $30 for non-residents

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: Yes

8. License Valid: 33 days

9. Waiting Period: 3 days

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: No

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Charlevoix County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Michigan, you must fill out a marriage license application either online or at the County Clerk's Office. If you choose to apply in person, it must be in the county where one of the parties lives or where non-residents intend to be married. Only one member of the couple is required to be present, but that person must prove that both members meet the requirements for marriage, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government office for recording.

How do I get a marriage license in Charlevoix County, Michigan?

You can apply in person or online for a marriage license in Michigan. If you apply in person, you must visit the County Clerk's Office for the county where one member of the couple is a resident or the county where non-residents intend to be married. You will need to meet certain requirements, provide valid identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Michigan?

The fee for a marriage license differs depending on if either member of the couple is a resident of the state of Michigan. The fee for residents is $20, and $30 for non-residents.

How old do you have to be to get married in Charlevoix County?

You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Michigan. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have the consent of one parent or guardian.