Search for Ingham County, MI marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Ingham County Marriage License Ingham County Clerk, Town Square Mason MI 48854 517-676-7201
East Lansing City Hall 410 Abbot Road East Lansing MI 48823 517-319-6891
Ingham County Clerk PO Box 179 Mason MI 48854 517-676-7201
Ingham County Health Department 5303 South Cedar Street Lansing MI 48911 517-887-4300
Lansing City Hall 124 West Michigan Avenue Lansing MI 48933 517-483-4000
Leslie City Clerk 106 East Bellevue Street Leslie MI 49251 517-589-8236
Mason City Hall 201 West Ash Street Mason MI 48854 517-676-9155
Stockbridge Township Clerk 125 South Clinton Street Stockbridge MI 49285 517-851-7658
Wheatfield Township Clerk 985 Holt Road Williamston MI 48895 517-655-4161
Williamston City Hall 161 East Grand River Avenue Williamston MI 48895 517-655-2774
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $20 for residents, $30 for non-residents
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 33 days
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Michigan, you must fill out a marriage license application either online or at the County Clerk's Office. If you choose to apply in person, it must be in the county where one of the parties lives or where non-residents intend to be married. Only one member of the couple is required to be present, but that person must prove that both members meet the requirements for marriage, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government office for recording.
How do I get a marriage license in Ingham County, Michigan?
You can apply in person or online for a marriage license in Michigan. If you apply in person, you must visit the County Clerk's Office for the county where one member of the couple is a resident or the county where non-residents intend to be married. You will need to meet certain requirements, provide valid identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Michigan?
The fee for a marriage license differs depending on if either member of the couple is a resident of the state of Michigan. The fee for residents is $20, and $30 for non-residents.
How old do you have to be to get married in Ingham County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Michigan. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have the consent of one parent or guardian.