Search for Shiawassee County, MI marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Shiawassee County Marriage License Shiawassee County Clerk, 208 North Shiawassee Street Corunna MI 48817 517-743-2279
Durand City Hall 215 West Clinton Street Durand MI 48429 989-288-3113
Laingsburg City Hall 114 South Woodhull Road Laingsburg MI 48848 517-651-6101
Owosso City Clerk 301 West Main Street Owosso MI 48867 989-725-0599
Owosso City Hall 301 West Main Street Owosso MI 48867 989-725-0599
Perry City Hall 203 Polly Perry MI 48872 517-625-6155
Sanilac County Clerk 208 North Shiawassee Street Corunna MI 48817 989-743-2242
Shiawassee County Health Department 7315 West Beard Road Perry MI 48872 517-675-4920
Shiawassee County Health Department 310 North Shiawassee Street Corunna MI 48817 989-743-2318
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $20 for residents, $30 for non-residents
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 33 days
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Michigan, you must fill out a marriage license application either online or at the County Clerk's Office. If you choose to apply in person, it must be in the county where one of the parties lives or where non-residents intend to be married. Only one member of the couple is required to be present, but that person must prove that both members meet the requirements for marriage, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government office for recording.
How do I get a marriage license in Shiawassee County, Michigan?
You can apply in person or online for a marriage license in Michigan. If you apply in person, you must visit the County Clerk's Office for the county where one member of the couple is a resident or the county where non-residents intend to be married. You will need to meet certain requirements, provide valid identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Michigan?
The fee for a marriage license differs depending on if either member of the couple is a resident of the state of Michigan. The fee for residents is $20, and $30 for non-residents.
How old do you have to be to get married in Shiawassee County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Michigan. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have the consent of one parent or guardian.