Search for Kent County, MI marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Kent County Marriage License Kent County Clerk, County Administration Building, 1St Floor, 300 Monroe Avenue Nw Grand Rapids MI 49503 616-336-3550
Byron Township Clerk 8085 Byron Center Avenue Southwest Byron Center MI 49315 616-878-9104
Cedar Springs City Hall 66 South Main Cedar Springs MI 49319 616-696-1330
Grand Rapids City Hall Unit 2, 300 Monroe Ave NW Grand Rapids MI 49503 616-456-3010
Grandville City Clerk 3195 Wilson Avenue Southwest Grandville MI 49418 616-530-4977
Grandville City Hall 3195 Wilson Avenue Southwest Grandville MI 49418 616-531-3030
Kent County Clerk 300 Monroe Avenue Northwest Grand Rapids MI 49503 616-632-7640
Kent County Health Department 121 Franklin Street Southeast Grand Rapids MI 49507 616-336-3914
Kent County Health Department 852 47th Street Southwest Wyoming MI 49509 616-531-8120
Sand Lake Town Hall 2 West Maple Street Sand Lake MI 49343 616-636-8854
Walker City Clerk 4243 Remembrance Road Northwest Walker MI 49534 616-791-6862
Wyoming City Hall 1155 28th Street Southwest Wyoming MI 49509 616-534-5799
Wyoming Clerk 1155 28th Street Southwest Wyoming MI 49509 616-530-7296
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $20 for residents, $30 for non-residents
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 33 days
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Michigan, you must fill out a marriage license application either online or at the County Clerk's Office. If you choose to apply in person, it must be in the county where one of the parties lives or where non-residents intend to be married. Only one member of the couple is required to be present, but that person must prove that both members meet the requirements for marriage, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government office for recording.
How do I get a marriage license in Kent County, Michigan?
You can apply in person or online for a marriage license in Michigan. If you apply in person, you must visit the County Clerk's Office for the county where one member of the couple is a resident or the county where non-residents intend to be married. You will need to meet certain requirements, provide valid identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Michigan?
The fee for a marriage license differs depending on if either member of the couple is a resident of the state of Michigan. The fee for residents is $20, and $30 for non-residents.
How old do you have to be to get married in Kent County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Michigan. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have the consent of one parent or guardian.