Search for Berrien County, MI marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Berrien County Marriage License Berrien County Clerk, 701 Main Street St. Joseph MI 49085 269-983-7111
Benton Harbor Health Department 455 Bond Street Benton Harbor MI 49022 269-926-1865
Berrien County Clerk 811 Port Street St. Joseph MI 49085 269-983-7111
Berrien County Health Department 1205 Front Street Niles MI 49120 269-684-5274
Berrien County Health Department 769 Pipestone Street Benton Harbor MI 49022 269-926-7121
Bridgman City Clerk 9765 Maple Street Bridgman MI 49106 269-465-5144
Buchanan City Hall 302 Red Bud Trail North Buchanan MI 49107 269-695-3844
Coloma City Hall 119 North Paw Paw Street Coloma MI 49038 269-468-6606
New Buffalo City Hall 224 West Buffalo Street New Buffalo MI 49117 269-469-1500
Niles City Clerk 508 East Main Street Niles MI 49120 269-683-4700
Niles City Hall 333 North 2nd Street Niles MI 49120 269-683-4700
Three Oaks Village Clerk 14 Maple Street Three Oaks MI 49128 269-756-9221
Watervliet City Hall 158 W Pleasant St Watervliet MI 49098 269-463-6769
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $20 for residents, $30 for non-residents
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 33 days
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Michigan, you must fill out a marriage license application either online or at the County Clerk's Office. If you choose to apply in person, it must be in the county where one of the parties lives or where non-residents intend to be married. Only one member of the couple is required to be present, but that person must prove that both members meet the requirements for marriage, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government office for recording.
How do I get a marriage license in Berrien County, Michigan?
You can apply in person or online for a marriage license in Michigan. If you apply in person, you must visit the County Clerk's Office for the county where one member of the couple is a resident or the county where non-residents intend to be married. You will need to meet certain requirements, provide valid identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Michigan?
The fee for a marriage license differs depending on if either member of the couple is a resident of the state of Michigan. The fee for residents is $20, and $30 for non-residents.
How old do you have to be to get married in Berrien County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Michigan. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have the consent of one parent or guardian.