Search for Muskegon County, MI marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Muskegon County Marriage License Muskegon County Clerk, 990 Terrace Street, 1St Floor Muskegon MI 49442 231-724-6221
Dalton Township Clerk 1616 East Riley-Thompson Road Muskegon MI 49445 231-766-3043
Montague City Hall 8778 Ferry Street Montague MI 49437 231-893-1155
Muskegon City Hall 1350 East Keating Avenue Muskegon MI 49442 231-724-4100
Muskegon County Clerk 141 East Apple Avenue Muskegon MI 49442 231-724-6316
Muskegon County Health Department 209 East Apple Avenue Muskegon MI 49442 231-724-6246
North Muskegon Clerk 1502 Ruddiman Drive North Muskegon MI 49445 231-744-1621
Whitehall City Hall 405 East Colby Street Whitehall MI 49461 231-894-4048
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $20 for residents, $30 for non-residents
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 33 days
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Michigan, you must fill out a marriage license application either online or at the County Clerk's Office. If you choose to apply in person, it must be in the county where one of the parties lives or where non-residents intend to be married. Only one member of the couple is required to be present, but that person must prove that both members meet the requirements for marriage, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government office for recording.
How do I get a marriage license in Muskegon County, Michigan?
You can apply in person or online for a marriage license in Michigan. If you apply in person, you must visit the County Clerk's Office for the county where one member of the couple is a resident or the county where non-residents intend to be married. You will need to meet certain requirements, provide valid identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Michigan?
The fee for a marriage license differs depending on if either member of the couple is a resident of the state of Michigan. The fee for residents is $20, and $30 for non-residents.
How old do you have to be to get married in Muskegon County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Michigan. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have the consent of one parent or guardian.