Search for Tennessee marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $97.50, or $37.50 with a premarital class
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 30 days
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Tennessee, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If only one member is able to attend due to incarceration or disability, the County Clerk may accept a notarized statement from the member who is not present. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government authority to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Tennessee?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You can complete an online Marriage Pre-Application prior to your visit. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay the fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Tennessee?
A marriage license costs $97.50 in Tennessee. If the couples completed a premarital course, the cost drops to $37.50.
How old do you have to be to get married in Tennessee?
In Tennessee, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.
Can you get married under 18 in Tennessee?
Yes. Minors who have reached the age of 16 can get married with the consent of both parents or legal guardian. The parents must accompany the minor to the County Clerk's Office and sign an affidavit granting consent. Minors who are under the age of 16 must receive a court order from Juvenile Court in order to get married.
Do you need a blood test to get married?
No. There is no legal requirement for a premarital blood test or physical exam in order to get married in Tennessee.
Who can legally marry you in Tennessee?
The state of Tennessee recognizes certain individuals as approved wedding officiants. This includes religious authorities as well as some government officials, such as judges, legislators, mayors, and justices of the peace. Ministers, priests, and other clergy do not need to receive any special license to perform weddings in Tennessee.
Do you need a witness to get married?
No. The state of Tennessee does not require witnesses for a marriage.
How long does it take to get a marriage license in Tennessee?
There is a 3 day waiting period after submitting the marriage license application until the license is valid. You must get married before your marriage license expires. The license is valid for 30 days.
What can you do when your marriage license expires?
If your Tennessee marriage license expires, you must apply for a new marriage license and repeat the application procedure. You will also be required to pay the fee again.
What if you or your spouse were previously married? Widowed or divorced?
In Tennessee, there is no waiting period after the end of a marriage to apply for a new marriage license. However, previous marriages must be disclosed on the marriage license application, and Tennessee requires proof of divorces in the form of a divorce decree.
Can you get married by proxy?
No. Marriage by proxy is not permitted in Tennessee.
Is same-sex marriage legal in Tennessee?
Yes. Same-sex marriage is legal in Tennessee.
Can you marry your cousin?
Yes. It is legal to marry your first cousin in Tennessee.
Is Tennessee a common law marriage state?
No. Common law marriages are not recognized by the state of Tennessee.
How do you change your name after getting married?
You will need to present your marriage certificate to several government entities, including the Tennessee state or county government, the Tennessee Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to receive a new license, the Social Security Administration (SSA) to update your Social Security Card, the U.S. Department of State to receive a new passport, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), and the U.S. Postal Service (USPS). Some government agencies may require a valid marriage certificate. You may also need to provide a marriage certificate to change your name on your insurance, bank accounts, utilities, and with other companies.