Search for Fayette County, TN marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Fayette County Marriage License 101 West Court Square Somerville TN 38068 901-465-5213
Fayette County Clerk PO Box 218 Somerville TN 38068 901-465-5213
Fayette County Health Department 90 Yum Yum Road Somerville TN 38068 901-465-5243
Moscow City Hall 14075 Tennessee 57 Moscow TN 38057 901-877-3585
Oakland City Hall 170 Doss Circle Oakland TN 38060 901-465-8523
Oakland Town Hall 170 Doss Circle Oakland TN 38060 901-465-8523
Piperton City Hall 3575 Tennessee 196 Piperton TN 38017 901-853-4834
Rossville City Hall 360 Morrison Rd Rossville TN 38066 901-853-4681
Somerville City Hall 13085 South Main Street Somerville TN 38068 901-465-9500
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $97.50, or $37.50 with a premarital class
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 30 days
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Tennessee, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If only one member is able to attend due to incarceration or disability, the County Clerk may accept a notarized statement from the member who is not present. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government authority to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Fayette County, Tennessee?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You can complete an online Marriage Pre-Application prior to your visit. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay the fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Tennessee?
A marriage license costs $97.50 in Tennessee. If the couples completed a premarital course, the cost drops to $37.50.
How old do you have to be to get married in Fayette County?
In Tennessee, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.