Lawrence County Marriage Licenses

List of Lawrence County Marriage Licenses

Search for Lawrence County, TN marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.

Lawrence County Marriage License 200 West Gaines Street Lawrenceburg TN 38464 931-762-7700

Ethridge City Hall 215 Depot Street Ethridge TN 38456 931-829-2150

Iron City City Hall 34 North Walnut Street Iron City TN 38463 931-845-4520

Lawrence County Clerk 200 West Gaines Street Lawrenceburg TN 38464 931-766-4176

Lawrence County Clerk 2588 U.s. 43 Leoma TN 38468 931-852-4775

Lawrence County Health Department 2379 Buffalo Road Lawrenceburg TN 38464 931-762-9406

Loretto City Hall 415 North Military Street Loretto TN 38469 931-853-6797

St Joseph City Hall 409 North Main Street St. Joseph TN 38481 931-845-4141

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court order

3. Cost/fees: $97.50, or $37.50 with a premarital class

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: No

8. License Valid: 30 days

9. Waiting Period: 3 days

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: Yes

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Lawrence County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Tennessee, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If only one member is able to attend due to incarceration or disability, the County Clerk may accept a notarized statement from the member who is not present. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government authority to be recorded.

How do I get a marriage license in Lawrence County, Tennessee?

You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You can complete an online Marriage Pre-Application prior to your visit. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay the fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Tennessee?

A marriage license costs $97.50 in Tennessee. If the couples completed a premarital course, the cost drops to $37.50.

How old do you have to be to get married in Lawrence County?

In Tennessee, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.