Search for Cheatham County, TN marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Cheatham County Marriage License 264 South Main Street Ashland City TN 37015 615-792-5179
Ashland City City Hall 101 Court Street Ashland City TN 37015 615-792-4211
Cheatham County Clerk 264 South Main Street Ashland City TN 37015 615-792-5179
Cheatham County Health Department 162 County Services Drive Ashland City TN 37015 615-792-4318
Kingston Springs City Hall 396 Spring Street Kingston Springs TN 37082 615-952-2110
Pegram City Hall 308 Highway 70 Pegram TN 37143 615-646-0773
Pleasant View City Hall 6365 U.S. 41 Alternate Pleasant View TN 37146 615-746-0600
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $97.50, or $37.50 with a premarital class
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 30 days
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Tennessee, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If only one member is able to attend due to incarceration or disability, the County Clerk may accept a notarized statement from the member who is not present. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government authority to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Cheatham County, Tennessee?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You can complete an online Marriage Pre-Application prior to your visit. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay the fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Tennessee?
A marriage license costs $97.50 in Tennessee. If the couples completed a premarital course, the cost drops to $37.50.
How old do you have to be to get married in Cheatham County?
In Tennessee, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.