Search for Sullivan County TN marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Sullivan County Marriage License 3258 Tennessee 126 Blountville TN 37617 423-323-6428
Bluff City City Hall 4391 Bluff City Highway Bluff TN 37618 423-538-7144
Bristol City Hall 104 8th Street Bristol TN 37620 423-989-5659
Kingsport City Hall 225 West Center Street Kingsport TN 37660 423-229-9412
Sullivan County Clerk 3258 Highway 126 Blountville TN 37617 423-323-6428
Sullivan County Clerk 225 West Center Street Kingsport TN 37660 423-224-1724
Sullivan County Clerk 801 Anderson Street Bristol TN 37620 423-989-4366
Sullivan County Health Department 1041 East Sullivan Street Kingsport TN 37660 423-224-1640
Sullivan County Health Department 154 Blountville Bypass Blountville TN 37617 423-279-2777
Tennessee Health Department 3193 Tennessee 126 Blountville TN 37617 423-279-1616
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $97.50, or $37.50 with a premarital class
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 30 days
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Tennessee, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If only one member is able to attend due to incarceration or disability, the County Clerk may accept a notarized statement from the member who is not present. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government authority to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Sullivan County, Tennessee?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You can complete an online Marriage Pre-Application prior to your visit. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay the fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Tennessee?
A marriage license costs $97.50 in Tennessee. If the couples completed a premarital course, the cost drops to $37.50.
How old do you have to be to get married in Sullivan County?
In Tennessee, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.