Search for Shelby County, TN marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Shelby County Marriage License 150 Washington Avenue Memphis TN 38103 901-222-3000
Arlington Town Hall 5854 Airline Road Arlington TN 38002 901-867-2620
Bartlett City Clerk 3730 Appling Road Bartlett TN 38133 901-385-5580
Collierville Clerk 101 Walnut Street Collierville TN 38017 901-457-2580
Collierville Town Hall 500 Poplar View Parkway Collierville TN 38017 901-457-2200
Cordova City Hall 7955 Fischer Steel Road Memphis TN 38018 901-755-5553
Lakeland City Hall 10001 U.s. 70 Lakeland TN 38002 901-867-2717
Memphis City Hall Ste 406, 125 N Main St Memphis TN 38103 901-576-6000
Millington City Clerk 7950 Memphis Avenue Millington TN 38053 901-872-4499
Millington City Hall 7930 Nelson Road Millington TN 38053 901-872-2211
Shelby County Clerk 150 Washington Avenue Memphis TN 38103 901-222-3000
Shelby County Clerk 1075 Mullins Station Road Memphis TN 38134 901-222-3000
Shelby County Clerk 2037 Exeter Road Germantown TN 38138 901-545-5521
Shelby County Health Department 8225 U.s. 51 Millington TN 38053 901-873-4433
Shelby County Health Department 6170 Macon Road Memphis TN 38134 901-222-9800
Shelby County Health Department 167 Washington Street Collierville TN 38017 901-222-9900
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $97.50, or $37.50 with a premarital class
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 30 days
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Tennessee, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If only one member is able to attend due to incarceration or disability, the County Clerk may accept a notarized statement from the member who is not present. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government authority to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Shelby County, Tennessee?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You can complete an online Marriage Pre-Application prior to your visit. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay the fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Tennessee?
A marriage license costs $97.50 in Tennessee. If the couples completed a premarital course, the cost drops to $37.50.
How old do you have to be to get married in Shelby County?
In Tennessee, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.