Search for Jefferson County, TN marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Hamblen County Marriage License 511 West Second North Morristown TN 37814 423-586-1993
Jefferson County Marriage License 214 West Main Street Dandridge TN 37725 865-397-2935
Dandridge Town Hall 131 East Main Street Dandridge TN 37725 865-397-7420
Jefferson County Clerk PO Box 710 Dandridge TN 37725 865-397-2935
New Market City Hall 1024 Volunteer Street New Market TN 37820 865-475-3018
White Pine City Hall 1548 Main Street White Pine TN 37890 865-674-2557
White Pine Town Hall 1548 Main Street White Pine TN 37890 865-674-2556
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $97.50, or $37.50 with a premarital class
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 30 days
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Tennessee, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If only one member is able to attend due to incarceration or disability, the County Clerk may accept a notarized statement from the member who is not present. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government authority to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Jefferson County, Tennessee?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You can complete an online Marriage Pre-Application prior to your visit. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay the fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Tennessee?
A marriage license costs $97.50 in Tennessee. If the couples completed a premarital course, the cost drops to $37.50.
How old do you have to be to get married in Jefferson County?
In Tennessee, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.