Search for Claiborne County, TN marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Claiborne County Marriage License 1740 Main Street Tazewell TN 37879 423-626-3283
Cailbone Clerk 415 Straight Creek Road New Tazewell TN 37825 423-626-3334
Claiborne County Clerk 1740 Main Street Tazewell TN 37879 423-626-3283
Claiborne County Health Department 620 Davis Drive New Tazewell TN 37825 423-626-4291
Harrogate City Hall 7076 Cumberland Gap Parkway Harrogate TN 37752 423-869-0211
New Tazewell City Hall 413 1st Avenue New Tazewell TN 37825 423-626-5242
Tazewell City Hall 1830 Main Street Tazewell TN 37879 423-626-5104
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $97.50, or $37.50 with a premarital class
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 30 days
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Tennessee, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If only one member is able to attend due to incarceration or disability, the County Clerk may accept a notarized statement from the member who is not present. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government authority to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Claiborne County, Tennessee?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You can complete an online Marriage Pre-Application prior to your visit. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay the fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Tennessee?
A marriage license costs $97.50 in Tennessee. If the couples completed a premarital course, the cost drops to $37.50.
How old do you have to be to get married in Claiborne County?
In Tennessee, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.