Search for Hamilton County, TN marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Hamilton County Marriage License 625 Georgia Avenue Chattanooga TN 37402 423-209-6500
Chattanooga City Clerk 101 West 11th Street Chattanooga TN 37402 423-757-5141
Chattanooga Health Department 540 McCallie Avenue Chattanooga TN 37402 423-634-6319
East Ridge City Clerk 1517 Tombras Avenue East Ridge TN 37412 423-867-2701
Hamilton County Clerk 625 Georgia Avenue Chattanooga TN 37402 423-209-6500
Hamilton County Clerk 102 Centro Street Chattanooga TN 37419 423-209-7500
Lookout Mountain Town Hall 710 Scenic Highway Lookout Mountain TN 37350 423-821-1226
Signal Mountain City Hall 1111 Ridgeway Avenue Signal Mountain TN 37377 423-886-2177
Signal Mountain Town Hall 1111 Ridgeway Avenue Signal Mountain TN 37377 423-886-3243
Soddy Daisy City Hall 9835 Dayton Pike Soddy-Daisy TN 37379 423-332-5323
Soddy-Daisy Clerk 9835 Dayton Pike Soddy-Daisy TN 37379 423-332-4741
Walden Town Hall 1836 Taft Highway Signal Mountain TN 37377 423-886-3566
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $97.50, or $37.50 with a premarital class
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 30 days
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Tennessee, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If only one member is able to attend due to incarceration or disability, the County Clerk may accept a notarized statement from the member who is not present. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government authority to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Hamilton County, Tennessee?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You can complete an online Marriage Pre-Application prior to your visit. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay the fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Tennessee?
A marriage license costs $97.50 in Tennessee. If the couples completed a premarital course, the cost drops to $37.50.
How old do you have to be to get married in Hamilton County?
In Tennessee, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.