Search for New Jersey marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
1. Apply where: Registrar of Vital Statistics at a Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $28
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, for the license and the ceremony
8. License Valid: 30 days
9. Waiting Period: 72 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in New Jersey, both members of the couple must visit a Registrar of Vital Statistics at the County or Town Clerk's Office to fill out a marriage license application. Residents of New Jersey must apply in the city where at least one member of the couple resides, and non-residents must apply in the location where the ceremony will take place. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You must also bring one witness, who is at least 18 years of age. Once the application is complete, there is a 72 hour waiting period before the marriage license is valid, and you must perform a marriage ceremony before the license expires. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government agency to record it.
How do I get a marriage license in New Jersey?
You will need to visit a Registrar of Vital Statistics at a County or Town Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in New Jersey?
A marriage license in New Jersey costs $28, regardless of which municipality accepts the application.
How old do you have to be to get married in New Jersey?
In New Jersey, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.
Can you get married under 18 in New Jersey?
Yes. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 years of age can marry in New Jersey with the consent of both parents or legal guardians. Individuals who are under the age of 16 can marry with the consent of both parents and a court order.
Do you need a blood test to get married?
No. There is no legal requirement for a premarital blood test or physical exam in order to get married in New Jersey.
Who can legally marry you in New Jersey?
In New Jersey, wedding officiants must be officially recognized by the state. Officiants can be recognized religious authorities or government officials, including judges, mayors, county clerks, and village presidents. Officiants are not required to register with the state of New Jersey.
Do you need a witness to get married?
Yes. In New Jersey, two witnesses over the age of 18 must be present at the marriage ceremony. These witnesses must sign the marriage license, along with the officiant and the couple.
How long does it take to get a marriage license in New Jersey?
There is a 72 hour waiting period in New Jersey between when you apply for the marriage license and when you can perform a marriage ceremony. You must perform the ceremony before the license expires. The marriage license is valid for 30 days.
What can you do when your marriage license expires?
If your New Jersey marriage license expires, you must apply for a new marriage license and repeat the application procedure. You will also be required to pay the fee again.
What if you or your spouse were previously married? Widowed or divorced?
In New Jersey, there is no waiting period after the end of a marriage to apply for a new marriage license. However, previous marriages must be disclosed, and New Jersey requires certified proof of the end of all prior marriages in the form of a divorce decree or death certificate.
Can you get married by proxy?
No. Marriage by proxy is not permitted in New Jersey.
Is same-sex marriage legal in New Jersey?
Yes. Same-sex marriage is legal in New Jersey.
Can you marry your cousin?
No. You cannot marry your cousin in New Jersey.
Is New Jersey a common law marriage state?
No. Common law marriages are not recognized by the state of New Jersey.
How do you change your name after getting married?
You will need to present your marriage certificate to several government entities, including the New Jersey state or county government, the New Jersey Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to receive a new license, the Social Security Administration (SSA) to update your Social Security Card, the U.S. Department of State to receive a new passport, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), and the U.S. Postal Service (USPS). Some government agencies may require a valid marriage certificate. You may also need to provide a marriage certificate to change your name on your insurance, bank accounts, utilities, and with other companies.