Search for Ocean County, NJ marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Barnegat Light Clerk 10 West 10th Street Barnegat Light NJ 08006 609-494-9196
Barnegat Township Clerk 900 West Bay Avenue Barnegat NJ 08005 609-698-0080
Beach Haven Clerk 300 Engleside Avenue Beach Haven NJ 08008 609-492-4548
Brick Township Clerk 401 Chambersbridge Road Brick NJ 08723 732-262-2925
Brick Township Town Hall 401 Chambersbridge Road Brick NJ 08723 732-262-1000
Long Beach Island Township Health Department 11601 Long Beach Boulevard Long Beach NJ 08008 609-492-1212
Manchester Township Town Hall 101 Lacey Road Manchester NJ 08759 732-350-4117
Mantoloking Borough Clerk 202 Downer Avenue Mantoloking NJ 08738 732-899-6600
Ocean County Clerk 101 Hooper Avenue Toms River NJ 08753 732-929-4749
Ocean County Clerk 118 Washington Street Toms River NJ 08753 732-929-2018
Ocean Gate City Clerk 151 East Longport Avenue Ocean Gate NJ 08740 732-269-3466
Pine Beach City Clerk 599 Pennsylvania Avenue Pine Beach NJ 08741 732-349-6425
Point Pleasant Beach Clerk 416 New Jersey Avenue Point Pleasant Beach NJ 08742 732-892-1118
Seaside Park Clerk 1701 N Ocean Ave Seaside Park NJ 08752 732-793-0234
South Toms River Clerk 144 Mill Street South Toms River NJ 08757 732-349-0403
Toms River County Clerk 225 4th Street Lakewood NJ 08701 732-370-8850
Toms River Township Clerk 33 Washington Street Toms River NJ 08753 732-341-1000
Tuckerton Borough Clerk 140 East Main Street Tuckerton NJ 08087 609-296-2701
1. Apply where: Registrar of Vital Statistics at a Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $28
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, for the license and the ceremony
8. License Valid: 30 days
9. Waiting Period: 72 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in New Jersey, both members of the couple must visit a Registrar of Vital Statistics at the County or Town Clerk's Office to fill out a marriage license application. Residents of New Jersey must apply in the city where at least one member of the couple resides, and non-residents must apply in the location where the ceremony will take place. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You must also bring one witness, who is at least 18 years of age. Once the application is complete, there is a 72 hour waiting period before the marriage license is valid, and you must perform a marriage ceremony before the license expires. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government agency to record it.
How do I get a marriage license in Ocean County, New Jersey?
You will need to visit a Registrar of Vital Statistics at a County or Town Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in New Jersey?
A marriage license in New Jersey costs $28, regardless of which municipality accepts the application.
How old do you have to be to get married in Ocean County?
In New Jersey, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.