Union County Marriage Licenses

Search for Union County NJ marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Clark Township Town Hall 430 Westfield Avenue Clark NJ 07066 732-388-3600


Elizabeth City Hall 250 Broadway Elizabeth NJ 07206 908-820-2847

Elizabeth City Hall 50 Winfield Scott Plaza Elizabeth NJ 07201 908-820-4000

Elizabeth Clerk 50 Winfield Scott Plaza Elizabeth NJ 07201 908-820-4130

Elizabeth Health Department 50 Winfield Scott Plaza Elizabeth NJ 07201 908-820-4049

Fanwood Clerk 75 North Martine Avenue Fanwood NJ 07023 908-322-6750

Garwood Clerk 403 South Avenue Garwood NJ 07027 908-789-0780

Hillside Township Clerk 1409 Liberty Avenue Hillside NJ 07205 973-926-3000

Kenilworth Borough Clerk 567 Boulevard Kenilworth NJ 07033 908-276-9090

Kenilworth Health Department 575 Boulevard Kenilworth NJ 07033 908-276-2740

Linden City Hall 301 Wood Avenue Linden NJ 07036 908-474-8413

Mountainside Clerk 1385 U.s. 22 Mountainside NJ 07092 908-232-5335

Plainfield City Hall 515 Watchung Avenue Plainfield NJ 07060 908-753-3000

Rahway City Clerk 1 City Hall Plaza Rahway NJ 07065 732-669-3610

Rahway City Hall 1 City Hall Plaza Rahway NJ 07065 732-827-2000

Rahway Health Department 1 City Hall Plaza Rahway NJ 07065 732-827-2085

Roselle Park Borough Clerk 110 Westfield Avenue East Roselle Park NJ 07204 908-245-6222

Summit City Clerk 512 Springfield Avenue Summit NJ 07901 908-273-6400

Union County Clerk 2 Broad Street Elizabeth NJ 07201 908-527-4787

Union County Clerk 300 North Avenue East Westfield NJ 07090 908-654-9859

Union County Clerk 2 Broad Street Elizabeth NJ 07201 908-527-4787

Union Township Clerk 1976 Morris Avenue Union NJ 07083 908-851-8501

Union Township Town Hall 1976 Morris Avenue Union NJ 07083 908-851-8500

Winfield Town Hall 12 Gulfstream Avenue Winfield NJ 07036 908-925-4369

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: Registrar of Vital Statistics at a Clerk's Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court order

3. Cost/fees: $28

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: Yes, for the license and the ceremony

8. License Valid: 30 days

9. Waiting Period: 72 hours

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: Yes

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Union County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in New Jersey, both members of the couple must visit a Registrar of Vital Statistics at the County or Town Clerk's Office to fill out a marriage license application. Residents of New Jersey must apply in the city where at least one member of the couple resides, and non-residents must apply in the location where the ceremony will take place. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You must also bring one witness, who is at least 18 years of age. Once the application is complete, there is a 72 hour waiting period before the marriage license is valid, and you must perform a marriage ceremony before the license expires. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government agency to record it.

How do I get a marriage license in Union County, New Jersey?

You will need to visit a Registrar of Vital Statistics at a County or Town Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in New Jersey?

A marriage license in New Jersey costs $28, regardless of which municipality accepts the application.

How old do you have to be to get married in Union County?

In New Jersey, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.