Search for Passaic County, NJ marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Bloomingdale Borough Clerk 101 Hamburg Turnpike Bloomingdale NJ 07403 973-838-0778
Clifton City Clerk 900 Clifton Avenue Clifton NJ 07013 973-470-5824
Clifton City Hall 900 Clifton Avenue Clifton NJ 07013 973-470-5860
Clifton Health Department 900 Clifton Avenue Clifton NJ 07013 973-470-5758
Haledon Clerk 510 Belmont Avenue Haledon NJ 07508 973-595-7766
Hawthorne Clerk 445 Lafayette Avenue Hawthorne NJ 07506 973-427-5555
Little Falls Township Clerk 225 Main Street Little Falls NJ 07424 973-256-0170
Passaic City Hall 330 Passaic Street Passaic NJ 07055 973-365-5500
Passaic County Clerk 401 Grand Street Paterson NJ 07505 973-225-3690
Passaic County Health Department 176 Broadway Paterson NJ 07505 973-321-1277
Paterson City Hall 155 Market Street Paterson NJ 07505 973-321-1500
Pompton Lakes Clerk 25 Lenox Avenue Pompton Lakes NJ 07442 973-616-5908
Totowa City Clerk 537 Totowa Rd Totowa NJ 07512 973-956-1009
Wayne Township Clerk 475 Valley Road Wayne NJ 07470 973-694-1800
1. Apply where: Registrar of Vital Statistics at a Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $28
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, for the license and the ceremony
8. License Valid: 30 days
9. Waiting Period: 72 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in New Jersey, both members of the couple must visit a Registrar of Vital Statistics at the County or Town Clerk's Office to fill out a marriage license application. Residents of New Jersey must apply in the city where at least one member of the couple resides, and non-residents must apply in the location where the ceremony will take place. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You must also bring one witness, who is at least 18 years of age. Once the application is complete, there is a 72 hour waiting period before the marriage license is valid, and you must perform a marriage ceremony before the license expires. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government agency to record it.
How do I get a marriage license in Passaic County, New Jersey?
You will need to visit a Registrar of Vital Statistics at a County or Town Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in New Jersey?
A marriage license in New Jersey costs $28, regardless of which municipality accepts the application.
How old do you have to be to get married in Passaic County?
In New Jersey, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.