Search for Morris County, NJ marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
East Hanover Health Department 411 Ridgedale Avenue East Hanover NJ 07936 973-887-5642
Harding Township Health Department 21 Blue Mill Road Morristown NJ 07960 973-455-7296
Jefferson Township Health Department 57 Minnisink Road Jefferson NJ 07849 973-663-0700
Lincoln Park Health Department 34 Chapel Hill Rd Lincoln Park NJ 07035 973-694-6104
Long Hill Township Town Hall 915 Valley Road Long Hill NJ 07980 908-647-8000
Madison Borough Clerk 205 Madison Avenue Madison NJ 07940 973-593-3041
Mine Hill Clerk 10 Baker St Mine Hill NJ 07803 973-366-9031
Morris County Clerk PO Box 315 Morristown NJ 07963 973-285-6059
Morris County Clerk 1 Court Street Morristown NJ 07960 973-285-6120
Morris Plains Clerk 531 Speedwell Avenue Morris Plains NJ 07950 973-538-4019
Mt Arlington Clerk 419 Howard Boulevard Mount Arlington NJ 07856 973-770-9632
Mt Olive Health Department 350 Route 46 Mount Olive NJ 07828 973-691-0900
Parsippany Health Department 1130 Knoll Road Boonton NJ 07005 973-263-7160
Parsippany Troy Hills Town Hall 1001 Parsippany Boulevard Parsippany-Troy Hills NJ 07054 973-263-4350
ParsippanyTownship Clerk 1001 Parsippany Boulevard Parsippany-Troy Hills NJ 07054 973-263-4359
Randolph Township Clerk 502 Millbrook Avenue Randolph NJ 07869 973-989-7041
Riverdale Borough Clerk 91 Newark Pompton Turnpike Riverdale NJ 07457 973-835-4060
Rockaway Clerk 65 Mount Hope Road Rockaway NJ 07866 973-983-2834
Roxbury Township Clerk 1715 Route 46 Roxbury NJ 07852 973-448-2034
Washington Township Clerk 43 Schooleys Mountain Road Washington NJ 07853 908-876-3852
Wharton Borough Clerk 18 West Central Avenue Wharton NJ 07885 973-361-8444
1. Apply where: Registrar of Vital Statistics at a Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $28
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, for the license and the ceremony
8. License Valid: 30 days
9. Waiting Period: 72 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in New Jersey, both members of the couple must visit a Registrar of Vital Statistics at the County or Town Clerk's Office to fill out a marriage license application. Residents of New Jersey must apply in the city where at least one member of the couple resides, and non-residents must apply in the location where the ceremony will take place. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You must also bring one witness, who is at least 18 years of age. Once the application is complete, there is a 72 hour waiting period before the marriage license is valid, and you must perform a marriage ceremony before the license expires. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government agency to record it.
How do I get a marriage license in Morris County, New Jersey?
You will need to visit a Registrar of Vital Statistics at a County or Town Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in New Jersey?
A marriage license in New Jersey costs $28, regardless of which municipality accepts the application.
How old do you have to be to get married in Morris County?
In New Jersey, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.