Search for Hunterdon County, NJ marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Alexandria Clerk 780 Frenchtown Road Milford NJ 08848 908-996-7071
Alexandria Clerk 21 Hog Hollow Road Alexandria NJ 08867 908-996-7071
Clinton Town Hall 43 Leigh Street Clinton NJ 08809 908-735-8616
Clinton Township Clerk 1225 Route 31 Lebanon NJ 08833 908-735-5328
Clinton Township Health Department 1370 Route 31 Annandale NJ 08801 908-735-2934
Frenchtown Borough Clerk 29 2nd Street Frenchtown NJ 08825 908-996-4524
Glen Gardner Borough Clerk 83 Main Street Glen Gardner NJ 08826 908-537-4748
Hampton Borough Clerk 1 Wells Avenue Hampton NJ 08827 908-537-2329
Hunterdon County Clerk 71 Main Street Flemington NJ 08822 908-788-1221
Hunterdon County Clerk 71 Main Street Flemington NJ 08822 908-788-1214
Hunterdon County Health Department 6 Gauntt Place Flemington NJ 08822 908-806-4570
Lambertville City Hall 18 York Street Lambertville NJ 08530 609-397-0110
Lambertville Clerk 18 York Street Lambertville NJ 08530 609-397-0110
Lebanon Township Clerk 530 West Hill Road Glen Gardner NJ 08826 908-638-8528
Milford Clerk 30 Water Street Milford NJ 08848 908-995-4323
Raritan Township Health Department 1 Municipal Drive Flemington NJ 08822 908-806-6100
1. Apply where: Registrar of Vital Statistics at a Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $28
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, for the license and the ceremony
8. License Valid: 30 days
9. Waiting Period: 72 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in New Jersey, both members of the couple must visit a Registrar of Vital Statistics at the County or Town Clerk's Office to fill out a marriage license application. Residents of New Jersey must apply in the city where at least one member of the couple resides, and non-residents must apply in the location where the ceremony will take place. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You must also bring one witness, who is at least 18 years of age. Once the application is complete, there is a 72 hour waiting period before the marriage license is valid, and you must perform a marriage ceremony before the license expires. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government agency to record it.
How do I get a marriage license in Hunterdon County, New Jersey?
You will need to visit a Registrar of Vital Statistics at a County or Town Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in New Jersey?
A marriage license in New Jersey costs $28, regardless of which municipality accepts the application.
How old do you have to be to get married in Hunterdon County?
In New Jersey, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.