Search for Monmouth County NJ marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Asbury Park City Hall 1 Municipal Plaza Asbury Park NJ 07712 732-775-2100
Atlantic Highlands Clerk 100 1st Avenue Atlantic Highlands NJ 07716 732-291-3225
Borough Farmingdale Clerk 11 Asbury Avenue Farmingdale NJ 07727 732-938-4077
Brielle Clerk 601 Union Lane Brielle NJ 08730 732-528-6600
Deal Borough Clerk 190 Norwood Avenue Deal NJ 07723 732-531-1454
Eatontown Clerk 47 Broad Street Eatontown NJ 07724 732-389-8349
Freehold Borough Health Department 51 West Main Street Freehold NJ 07728 732-462-7057
Holmdel Clerk 4 Crawfords Corner Road Holmdel NJ 07733 732-946-4330
Keansburg Borough Clerk 29 Church Street Keansburg NJ 07734 732-787-0215
Keyport Boro Clerk 70 West Front Street Keyport NJ 07735 732-739-3900
Little Silver Clerk 480 Prospect Avenue Little Silver NJ 07739 732-842-3881
Long Branch City Hall 344 Broadway Long Branch NJ 07740 732-222-2416
Long Branch Health Department 344 Broadway Long Branch NJ 07740 732-222-2416
Manasquan Borough Clerk 201 East Main Street Manasquan NJ 08736 732-223-0544
Matawan Borough Clerk 201 Broad Street Matawan NJ 07747 732-290-2001
Middletown Township Clerk 1 Kings Highway Middletown NJ 07748 732-671-4601
Middletownship Town Hall 1 Kings Highway Middletown NJ 07748 732-615-2000
Monmouth Beach Borough Clerk 22 Beach Road Monmouth Beach NJ 07750 732-229-2204
Monmouth Beach Borough Town Hall 22 Beach Road Monmouth Beach NJ 07750 732-229-2204
Monmouth County Clerk 33 Mechanic Street Freehold NJ 07728 732-431-7324
Monmouth County Health Department 3435 U.s. 9 Freehold NJ 07728 732-431-7456
Oceanport Borough Clerk 222 Monmouth Boulevard Oceanport NJ 07757 732-229-2626
Red Bank Borough Clerk 90 Monmouth Street Red Bank NJ 07701 732-530-2740
Sea Girt Borough Clerk 321 Baltimore Boulevard Sea Girt NJ 08750 732-449-9433
Shrewsbury Clerk 419 Sycamore Avenue Shrewsbury NJ 07702 732-842-2868
Shrewsbury Township Town Hall 1979 Crawford Street Eatontown NJ 07724 732-542-0572
1. Apply where: Registrar of Vital Statistics at a Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $28
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, for the license and the ceremony
8. License Valid: 30 days
9. Waiting Period: 72 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in New Jersey, both members of the couple must visit a Registrar of Vital Statistics at the County or Town Clerk's Office to fill out a marriage license application. Residents of New Jersey must apply in the city where at least one member of the couple resides, and non-residents must apply in the location where the ceremony will take place. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You must also bring one witness, who is at least 18 years of age. Once the application is complete, there is a 72 hour waiting period before the marriage license is valid, and you must perform a marriage ceremony before the license expires. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government agency to record it.
How do I get a marriage license in Monmouth County, New Jersey?
You will need to visit a Registrar of Vital Statistics at a County or Town Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in New Jersey?
A marriage license in New Jersey costs $28, regardless of which municipality accepts the application.
How old do you have to be to get married in Monmouth County?
In New Jersey, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.