Search for Mercer County, NJ marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Appellate Clerk 25 Market Street Trenton NJ 08611 609-777-3086
Camden County Clerk 25 Market Street Trenton NJ 08611 609-421-6100
Hightstown Clerk 148 North Main Street Hightstown NJ 08520 609-490-5105
Hopewell Clerk 45 East Broad Street Hopewell NJ 08525 609-466-8628
Hopewell Clerk 201 Washington Crossing Pennington Road Hopewell NJ 08560 609-737-1035
Lawrence Township Clerk 357 Main Street Lawrence NJ 08311 856-447-3035
Mercer County Clerk 209 South Broad Street Trenton NJ 08608 609-989-6464
New Jersey State Health Department 135 East State Street Trenton NJ 08608 609-588-7500
Princeton Clerk 400 Witherspoon Street Princeton NJ 08542 609-924-5704
Princeton Health Department 1 Monument Drive Princeton NJ 08540 609-497-7614
Trenton City Hall 319 East State Street Trenton NJ 08608 609-989-3000
Trenton Health Department 218 North Broad Street Trenton NJ 08608 609-989-3242
Washington Township City Hall 1 Washington Blvd Trenton NJ 08691 609-918-0002
1. Apply where: Registrar of Vital Statistics at a Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $28
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, for the license and the ceremony
8. License Valid: 30 days
9. Waiting Period: 72 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in New Jersey, both members of the couple must visit a Registrar of Vital Statistics at the County or Town Clerk's Office to fill out a marriage license application. Residents of New Jersey must apply in the city where at least one member of the couple resides, and non-residents must apply in the location where the ceremony will take place. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You must also bring one witness, who is at least 18 years of age. Once the application is complete, there is a 72 hour waiting period before the marriage license is valid, and you must perform a marriage ceremony before the license expires. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government agency to record it.
How do I get a marriage license in Mercer County, New Jersey?
You will need to visit a Registrar of Vital Statistics at a County or Town Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in New Jersey?
A marriage license in New Jersey costs $28, regardless of which municipality accepts the application.
How old do you have to be to get married in Mercer County?
In New Jersey, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.