Search for Somerset County, NJ marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Bernards Township Clerk 1 Collyer Lane Bernards NJ 07920 908-204-3001
Bernards Township Health Department 262 South Finley Avenue Bernards NJ 07920 908-204-2520
Bernardsville Borough Clerk 166 Mine Brook Road Bernardsville NJ 07924 908-766-3000
Bound Brook Clerk 230 Hamilton Street Bound Brook NJ 08805 732-356-4266
Far Hills Borough Clerk 6 Prospect Street Far Hills NJ 07931 908-234-0611
Green Brook Town Hall 111 Greenbrook Road Green Brook NJ 08812 732-968-1023
Millstone Clerk 20 Beardslee Road Millstone NJ 08844 908-281-6893
Somerset County Clerk 20 Grove Street Somerville NJ 08876 908-231-7006
Somerville Clerk 25 West End Avenue Somerville NJ 08876 908-704-6983
South Bound Brook Borough Clerk 12 Main Street South Bound Brook NJ 08880 732-356-0258
1. Apply where: Registrar of Vital Statistics at a Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $28
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, for the license and the ceremony
8. License Valid: 30 days
9. Waiting Period: 72 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in New Jersey, both members of the couple must visit a Registrar of Vital Statistics at the County or Town Clerk's Office to fill out a marriage license application. Residents of New Jersey must apply in the city where at least one member of the couple resides, and non-residents must apply in the location where the ceremony will take place. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You must also bring one witness, who is at least 18 years of age. Once the application is complete, there is a 72 hour waiting period before the marriage license is valid, and you must perform a marriage ceremony before the license expires. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government agency to record it.
How do I get a marriage license in Somerset County, New Jersey?
You will need to visit a Registrar of Vital Statistics at a County or Town Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in New Jersey?
A marriage license in New Jersey costs $28, regardless of which municipality accepts the application.
How old do you have to be to get married in Somerset County?
In New Jersey, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.