Search for Hudson County, NJ marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Bayonne Health Department 630 Avenue C Bayonne NJ 07002 201-858-6113
Harrison Clerk 318 Harrison Avenue Harrison NJ 07029 973-268-2454
Harrison Health Department 318 Harrison Avenue Harrison NJ 07029 973-268-2464
Harrison Town Hall 318 Harrison Avenue Harrison NJ 07029 973-268-2425
Hoboken City Hall 94 Washington Street Hoboken NJ 07030 201-420-2000
Hoboken Health Department 124 Adams Street Hoboken NJ 07030 201-420-2365
Hudson County Clerk 257 Cornelison Avenue Jersey NJ 07302 201-369-3470
Hudson County Clerk 567 Pavonia Avenue Jersey NJ 07306 201-795-6022
Jersey City City Hall 280 Grove Street Jersey NJ 07302 201-547-5000
Jersey City Clerk 280 Grove Street Jersey NJ 07302 201-547-5150
Jersey City Health Department 1 Journal Square Plaza Jersey NJ 07306 201-547-5169
Kearny Health Department 645 Kearny Avenue Kearny NJ 07032 201-997-0600
Kearny Town Clerk 402 Kearny Avenue Kearny NJ 07032 201-955-7400
North Bergen Health Department 1116 43rd St North Bergen NJ 07047 201-392-2084
North Bergen Township Clerk 4233 John F. Kennedy Boulevard North Bergen NJ 07047 201-392-2024
North Bergen Township Town Hall 4233 John F. Kennedy Boulevard North Bergen NJ 07047 201-868-8605
Secaucus Health Department 1203 Paterson Plank Road Secaucus NJ 07094 201-330-2031
Secaucus Town Administrator 1203 Paterson Plank Road Secaucus NJ 07094 201-330-2008
Secaucus Town Clerk 1203 Paterson Plank Road Secaucus NJ 07094 201-330-1990
Union City City Hall 3715 Palisade Avenue Union NJ 07087 201-348-5794
Union City Health Department 3715 Palisade Avenue Union NJ 07087 201-348-5608
West New York Town Clerk 428 60th Street West New York NJ 07093 201-295-5090
1. Apply where: Registrar of Vital Statistics at a Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $28
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, for the license and the ceremony
8. License Valid: 30 days
9. Waiting Period: 72 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in New Jersey, both members of the couple must visit a Registrar of Vital Statistics at the County or Town Clerk's Office to fill out a marriage license application. Residents of New Jersey must apply in the city where at least one member of the couple resides, and non-residents must apply in the location where the ceremony will take place. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You must also bring one witness, who is at least 18 years of age. Once the application is complete, there is a 72 hour waiting period before the marriage license is valid, and you must perform a marriage ceremony before the license expires. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government agency to record it.
How do I get a marriage license in Hudson County, New Jersey?
You will need to visit a Registrar of Vital Statistics at a County or Town Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in New Jersey?
A marriage license in New Jersey costs $28, regardless of which municipality accepts the application.
How old do you have to be to get married in Hudson County?
In New Jersey, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.