Search for Essex County, NJ marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Belleville Town Hall 152 Washington Avenue Belleville NJ 07109 973-450-3300
Belleville Township Clerk 152 Washington Avenue Belleville NJ 07109 973-450-3410
Bloomfield Health Department 1 Municipal Plaza Bloomfield NJ 07003 973-680-4024
Bloomfield Township Clerk 1 Municipal Plaza Bloomfield NJ 07003 973-680-4015
Caldwell Clerk 1 Provost Square Caldwell NJ 07006 973-403-4626
Caldwell Health Department 1 Provost Square Caldwell NJ 07006 973-403-4623
East Orange City Hall 44 City Hall Plaza East Orange NJ 07017 973-266-5100
Essex County Clerk 465 Doctor Martin Luther King Junior Boulevard Newark NJ 07102 973-621-4921
Essex County Clerk 465 Doctor Martin Luther King Junior Boulevard Newark NJ 07102 973-621-4920
Essex Fells Borough Clerk 255 Roseland Avenue Essex Fells NJ 07021 973-226-3400
Fairfield Clerk 230 Fairfield Road Fairfield NJ 07004 973-882-2715
Fairfield Health Department 230 Fairfield Rd Fairfield NJ 07004 973-882-2728
Irvington Clerk 1 Civic Square Irvington NJ 07111 973-399-6677
Irvington Township Health Department 1 Civic Square Irvington NJ 07111 973-399-6797
Livingston Clerk 357 South Livingston Avenue Livingston NJ 07039 973-535-7965
Livingston Health Department 357 South Livingston Avenue Livingston NJ 07039 973-535-7963
Millburn Clerk 435 Essex St Millburn NJ 07041 973-564-7065
Millburn Township Town Hall 375 Millburn Ave Millburn NJ 07041 973-564-7073
Montclair Township Health Department 205 Claremont Avenue Montclair NJ 07042 973-509-4970
Newark City Hall 920 Broad Street Newark NJ 07102 973-733-3600
Newark Health Department 153 Halsey Street Newark NJ 07102 973-648-7500
Nutley Health Department 149 Chestnut Street Nutley NJ 07110 973-284-4976
Nutley Town Clerk 1 Kennedy Drive Nutley NJ 07110 973-284-4955
Orange City Clerk 29 North Day Street City of Orange NJ 07050 973-266-4000
Orange City Hall 29 North Day Street City of Orange NJ 07050 973-266-4000
Verona Township Clerk 880 Bloomfield Avenue Verona NJ 07044 973-857-4772
Verona Township Health Department 25 Grove Avenue Verona NJ 07044 973-857-4800
Verona Township Town Hall 600 Bloomfield Avenue Verona NJ 07044 973-857-4767
West Caldwell Health Department 30 Clinton Rd West Caldwell NJ 07006 973-226-2300
West Orange Town Hall 66 Main Street West Orange NJ 07052 973-325-4000
1. Apply where: Registrar of Vital Statistics at a Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $28
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, for the license and the ceremony
8. License Valid: 30 days
9. Waiting Period: 72 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in New Jersey, both members of the couple must visit a Registrar of Vital Statistics at the County or Town Clerk's Office to fill out a marriage license application. Residents of New Jersey must apply in the city where at least one member of the couple resides, and non-residents must apply in the location where the ceremony will take place. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You must also bring one witness, who is at least 18 years of age. Once the application is complete, there is a 72 hour waiting period before the marriage license is valid, and you must perform a marriage ceremony before the license expires. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government agency to record it.
How do I get a marriage license in Essex County, New Jersey?
You will need to visit a Registrar of Vital Statistics at a County or Town Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in New Jersey?
A marriage license in New Jersey costs $28, regardless of which municipality accepts the application.
How old do you have to be to get married in Essex County?
In New Jersey, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.