Search for Cape May County, NJ marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Avalon Clerk 3100 Dune Drive Avalon NJ 08202 609-967-8200
Cape May City Hall 643 Washington Street Cape May NJ 08204 609-884-9525
Cape May County Clerk Cape May Court House NJ 08210 609-465-1010
Cape May County Health Department 6 Moore Road Cape May Court House NJ 08210 609-465-1194
Lower Township Clerk 2600 Bayshore Road Villas NJ 08251 609-886-2005
Middle Township Clerk 33 Mechanic Street Cape May Court House NJ 08210 609-465-8721
Ocean City City Hall 400 East 9th Street Ocean NJ 08226
Ocean City Clerk 861 Asbury Avenue Ocean NJ 08226 609-525-9328
Sea Isle City Clerk 4416 Landis Ave Sea Isle NJ 08243 609-263-4461
Sea Isle City Hall 4416 Landis Avenue Sea Isle NJ 08243 609-263-4461
Stone Harbor Clerk 9508 2nd Avenue Stone Harbor NJ 08247 609-368-5102
West Wildwood City Clerk 701 West Glenwood Avenue West Wildwood NJ 08260 609-522-4845
Wildwood City Hall 4400 New Jersey Avenue Wildwood NJ 08260 609-522-2942
1. Apply where: Registrar of Vital Statistics at a Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $28
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, for the license and the ceremony
8. License Valid: 30 days
9. Waiting Period: 72 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in New Jersey, both members of the couple must visit a Registrar of Vital Statistics at the County or Town Clerk's Office to fill out a marriage license application. Residents of New Jersey must apply in the city where at least one member of the couple resides, and non-residents must apply in the location where the ceremony will take place. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You must also bring one witness, who is at least 18 years of age. Once the application is complete, there is a 72 hour waiting period before the marriage license is valid, and you must perform a marriage ceremony before the license expires. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government agency to record it.
How do I get a marriage license in Cape May County, New Jersey?
You will need to visit a Registrar of Vital Statistics at a County or Town Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in New Jersey?
A marriage license in New Jersey costs $28, regardless of which municipality accepts the application.
How old do you have to be to get married in Cape May County?
In New Jersey, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.