Sussex County Marriage Licenses

Search for Sussex County NJ marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Frankford Township Clerk 151 U.s. 206 Frankford NJ 07822 973-948-5566


Green Township Town Hall 150 Kennedy Road Green NJ 07821 908-852-9333

Hamburg City Hall 16 Wallkill Avenue Hamburg NJ 07419 973-827-9230

Montague Township Clerk 277 Clove Road Montague NJ 07827 973-293-7300

Montague Township Town Hall 277 Clove Road Montague NJ 07827 973-293-7300

Newton Town Hall 39 Trinity Street Newton NJ 07860 973-383-3521

Ogdensburg Borough Clerk 14 Highland Avenue Ogdensburg NJ 07439 973-827-3444

Sparta Township Clerk 65 Main Street Sparta NJ 07871 973-729-4493

Sparta Township Health Department 63 Main Street Sparta NJ 07871 973-729-6174

Stanhope Clerk 77 Main Street Stanhope NJ 07874 973-347-4181

Sussex County Clerk 83 Spring Street Newton NJ 07860 973-579-0900

Sussex County Clerk 83 Spring Street Newton NJ 07860 973-579-0900

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: Registrar of Vital Statistics at a Clerk's Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court order

3. Cost/fees: $28

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: Yes, for the license and the ceremony

8. License Valid: 30 days

9. Waiting Period: 72 hours

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: Yes

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Sussex County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in New Jersey, both members of the couple must visit a Registrar of Vital Statistics at the County or Town Clerk's Office to fill out a marriage license application. Residents of New Jersey must apply in the city where at least one member of the couple resides, and non-residents must apply in the location where the ceremony will take place. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You must also bring one witness, who is at least 18 years of age. Once the application is complete, there is a 72 hour waiting period before the marriage license is valid, and you must perform a marriage ceremony before the license expires. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government agency to record it.

How do I get a marriage license in Sussex County, New Jersey?

You will need to visit a Registrar of Vital Statistics at a County or Town Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in New Jersey?

A marriage license in New Jersey costs $28, regardless of which municipality accepts the application.

How old do you have to be to get married in Sussex County?

In New Jersey, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.